Android Ice Cream Sandwich Live

Avatar:
Author:
Publish date:
Social count:
0

Ice Cream Sandwich Source Code Released!

Well, that is the Android event over. For a look at all of the latest news, read through our detailed posts below and if you have any questions or comments, please leave them in the comments section below.

Here are some more detailed articles about the new features of Android Ice Cream Sandwich and the Samsung Galaxy Nexus:

12:01 -London

And now we can confirm that Ice Cream Sandwich looks amazing on tablets too. It is much like Honeycomb, but more refined and is packed with more features.

404

404
404

404

Images credit to This is My Next (head over there for more screenshots.)

07:14 -London

Andy Rubin has confirmed in an interview that Android Ice Cream Sandwich will be released on other devices "a couple of weeks after" the Galaxy Nexus, but we'd expect to see ROMs of the new version available long before then.

04:25 -London

The official video for the Galaxy Nexus has been released on the Android Developers YouTube Channel. The slogan for the phone, "Calling All" is again introduced in the video. Basically, Google and Samsung are calling all people to get the device.

04:00 -London

And that's it all over; everything new with Android in just one hour. Now we will make sure to keep an eye on different feeds to continue bringing you all the latest news.

03:58 -London 

The new ICS SDK is available now at developer.android.com.

03:56 -London

You can beam YouTube videos, contact cards and applications! Beam is everything you need for multi-phone co-operation.

03:55 -London

Let's get on to Android Beam. It is secure and fast. To beam content, all you have to do it touch two phones together. It is instantaneous and effortless - very nice!

03:54 -London

Visual voicemails are included in the Calls application. It has been entirely updated and includes a favourite tab full of high-res photos.

03:52 -London

An extension of People is the quick contact card. This allows new conversations to be made in a popup card anywhere on the phone.

03:51 -London

People has become a part of stock Android. It includes amazing photo grids and, again, has a minimal design. Status updates are also found in the people app. "It is a live window into your social world."

03:50 -London

Time lapse recording is another feature of the ICS camera.

03:47 -London

Quick panorama creation is also in ICS. It is amazingly fast and great quality.

03:47 -London

"The new gallery app looks really, really amazing!" I agree.

03:45 -London

The camera of ICS has been updated a great deal. Quick sharing through an action bar has been added to make staying social easy. Easy slider zooming is included and touch to focus is too. Face detection is also in the stock app. Zero shutter lag lets you take pictures in practically no time!

03:43 -London

A new data usage checker is included in the stock Android settings. It enables specific app data searching and allows cutting off background data for specific applications. This aims to make data transparent to users.

03:41 -London

All of the core Android apps have been updated!

03:40 -London

Gmail has been completely redesigned in ICS. There is a new action bar at the bottom of the interface and multi-selection is easy. The conversation view is absolutely stunning, its minimal design is beautiful. Email addresses are converted into 'chips' which includes a name and picture of a contact. Also, offline search is automatically enabled for the past month, but this can be customised.

03:37 -London

The stock Android browser includes OTA bookmark syncing and magazine-like tabbing. You can save pages for later reading and many more options are included in a new menu in the top right corner.

03:35 -London

the new Android keyboard included many more features including better suggestions, real-time talk to type dictation and a new text selection method that let's you copy and paste by dragging text.

03:31 -London

New customised notifications are included in the update. You an swipe to remove them and the icons are bigger - even more beautiful. What's more, they can be accessed from the lockscreen.

03:30 -London

Multi-tasking on Android Ice Cream Sandwich is a breeze with gesture support.

03:29 -London 

ICS incorporates new folders which can be customised to hold anything, including apps and contacts.

03:28 -London

Widgets work just like in Honeycomb. They can be resized and moved to other screens very quickly.

03:27 -London

Much like honeycomb, Ice Cream Sandwich is buttonless. Buttons hide when they aren't needed like in videos to take advantage of 16:9 ratio.

03:25 -London

The Ice cream Sandwich lockscreen is minimal and is the cover of 'your magazine'. It is animated.

03:24 -London

Roboto is the new typeface of Android and it is just the start of a complete makeover for the platform. It is emotional and trending.

03:23 -London

Google have set about changing how people talk about Android. It should be easy, enchanting, powerful, smart and seductive!

03:22 -London

'What is the soul of Android?'

03:21 -London

Next up; all about the Galaxy Nexus' operating system, Ice Cream Sandwich.

03:20 -London

Zero shutter lag ensures pictures can be taken in less than a second - that will surely take on the iPhone 4S!

03:13 - London

The design of the Galaxy Nexus is now being discussed.

02:58 - London

An so it begins! Samsung's Kim Titus has taken the stage accompanied by the famous Something Big is Coming ad.

02:58 - London

Android Ice Cream Sandwich Live

Android Ice Cream Sandwich Live

Image credits to This is My Next

It looks like a busy morning at the event in Hong Kong!

02:51 - London

Android Ice Cream Sandwich Live

Image credit to This is My Next

It looks like Google and Samsung are doing more than just 'calling all Ice Cream Sandwich lovers' as they stated in their initial YouTube unveil of Ice Cream Sandwich.

02:31 - London

Here's all of that in text form:

  • Android 4.0 Ice Cream
  • 4.65-inch HD Super AMOLED Screen with 720p resolution
  • 1.2GHz dual-core processor
  • Redsigned UI in Android 4.0
  • Improved multi-tasking, notifications, Wi-Fi hotspot, NFC support, full web browsing (that's not Chrome unfortunately)
  • Android 4.0 features Software Navigation buttons – brand new
  • People App with Google+ Integration among other features
  • Redesigned camera with panorama mode, 1080p video, zero-shutter lag, silly faces and background replacement features
  • Face Unlock: Facial recognition to unlock your phone! BOOM that just happened.
  • Android Beam uses NFC to easily share content with other Android users with the bump of phones
  • PURE GOOGLE EXPERIENCE
  • All the Google Apps you love from Android Market and GMail to Movie Studio and redesigned Google+ app
  • 8.94mm thick, 4.29mm bezel
  • LTE and HSPA+ connectivity
  • Available in USA, Europe, and Asia beginning in November and then rolled out globally

02:28 - London

We have some complete specifications here for you now!If these are just being given away, Google must have something huge up its sleeve!

Android Ice Cream Sandwich Live

Image credit to Phandroid

Android Ice Cream Sandwich Live

Image credit to Phandroid

02:14 - London
We have an early update before the event for you! The specifications of the Samsung Galaxy Nexus have just been announced. The device will feature a 4.65-inch 1280 x 720 HD Super AMOLED screen, a 1.2GHz dual-core processor, 1GB of RAM, 16GB or 32GB internal memory, and a 1750mAh battery. It has a 5MP rear-facing camera with zero shutter lag which supports 1080p video recording and a 1.3MP front-facing camera.

Ice Cream Sandwich Source Code Released!

This live-blog is for everyone watching the live stream from the Samsung and Google event in Hong Kong where the two companies are expected to announce the Samsung Galaxy Nexus and the newest version of the Android platform, Ice Cream Sandwich - sounds tasty!

Here are the times to tune in:
Hawaii - 04:00 PM - 18th October
Pacific - 07:00 PM - 18th October
Mountain - 08:00 PM - 18th October
Central - 09:00 PM - 18th October
Eastern - 10:00 PM - 18th October
London - 03:00 AM - 19th October
Paris - 04:00 AM - 19th October
Moscow - 06:00 AM - 19th October
Hong Kong - 10:00 AM - 19th October
Tokyo - 11:00 AM - 19th October